Mumbai: Sixth International Cricket World Cup 2016 [ICC WC T20-2016] will be hosted by India. Venues of ICC T20 2016 matches have been announced. Kolkata’s iconic ‘Eden Gardens’ stadium slated to host the final of the ICC World Cup Twenty20 2016, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on 21 July, while confirming all the venues for the prestigious ICC WC T20 tournament.

Reportedly, “Coming ICC World Cup T20 2016 will be taken place in India from 11 March to 3 April, 2016. The ICC WC T20 2016 format will use the same format as the last one which Sri Lanka won defeating West Indies in the final.”

ICC t20 World Cup 2016
ICC t20 World Cup 2016

According to BCCI information released yesterday, “Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi will be the venues along with Kolkata, which will also host the final match of the Tournament”.

In ICC WC T20-2011, Kolkata’s, Eden Gardens had missed out on hosting ICC World Cup 2011 matches as renovation work was not complete. The famous ground had hosted World Cup 1987 final and also 1996 World Cup semi-final.

Eden Gardens to host the final “These venues will host the matches subject to fulfilling the prescribed requirements of the ICC and BCCI while adhering to the statutory obligations that are mandatory for hosting an International match,” it added.

In yesterday press conference BCCI Secretary Anurag Thakur said, “BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious Tournament. All the venues have identified which will host many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest”.

“We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event”, Thakur added in his statement.

“One of the semi-finals will be held in Mumbai. The other might be held in Delhi. In case the semi-final is not held in Delhi then it will host a marquee match like India versus Pakistan. Dharamsala will host an India game against one of the qualifiers,” Thakur told reporters in media conference.

This will be the first time for India will be hosting ICC World Cup T20 all matches of ICC major event without any collaboration. They are the winners of the inaugural edition in 2007 in South Africa under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Venue:

  • Eden Gardens (Kolkata)
  • Feroz Shah Kotla Ground (New Delhi)
  • HPCA Stadium (Dharamshala)
  • M.A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bangalore)
  • PCA IS Bindra Stadium (Mohali)
  • VCA Stadium (Nagpur)
  • Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai)

ICC World Cup Twenty20 2016 – Important Dates

Qualifiers  6 to 26 July 2015
World Twenty 20 Provisional Round Starts 11 March 2016
World Twenty20 Super 10 Stage Starts 16 March 2016
World Twent20 Final 03 April 2016
Fixtures Announcement  September 2015

The BCCI has also constituted a Managing Committee for this prestigious tournament comprising of the following members: President of BCCI, Jagmohan Dalmiya would be the chairman of this committee along with the following members
Anurag Thakur (convener and Secretary, BCCI)

  • Amitabh Choudhary, (Joint Secretary, BCCI)
  • Anirudh Chaudhry, (Treasurer, BCCI)
  • Ganga Raju, (Vice President, BCCI)
  • Rajeev Shukla, (Chairman, IPL)
  • Ashish Shelar, (Vice President, Mumbai Cricket Association)
  • Ashirbad Behera, (Secretary, Orissa Cricket Association)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.